Sixteen months ago I made my first silly remark to this pesky little ‘thang’ of an arachnoid nature. Funny, ‘cuz I hate creepy, crawly critters. But somehow I found this critter to be of an endearing nature, so much so that I had to venture out to see it’s home some three months later. And you know, ARACHNOID suddenly had a whole new meaning. Friendly, silly, caring, sarcastic, loving, hopeful…so much more wrapped up into one package (hmmm, did I say ‘package?’ *eg*)

For some of you I am sure you are saying, “What the hell is he talking about?” Of course, I am referring to Spider, my dear, dear friend. He’s on my mind tonight as he is every day. Several of you have made inquiries about how Spider has been doing as of late with his cancer treatment. Several have asked if he will be blogging any time soon again. On the later issue, I just don’t know when he will be back. I think much of the lack of blogging rests with the first issue. This round of chemotherapy has really knocked Spider for a loop. He had hoped there would be a rhythm or pattern to the treatment, namely feel crappy the first week of treatment while receiving the chemo and recover, feel a bit more energized the second week. Then start the cycle over again with the same expectations.

But that has not been the course. Spider is feeling much more lethargic and nauseated the second week of his two week rotation. And as happens with so many cancer patients when faced with this battle and news, Spider is running a bit ‘down.’ It’s hard to convince someone faced with the obstacles of cancer that their life has purpose, not to succumb to feelings of doubt. He and I have had many conversations on this subject. Sometimes we are forced to make changes, some permanent, some temporary to ensure our health and well-being. The change should not be interpreted as something that makes us any less of a person than who we currently are.

Anyhow, I suspect I should get to the point. Spider is doing about as well as any cancer patient can be at this stage. Just ask Bigg or read his more current blog posts to get a fresh perspective.  He’s battling with emotions.  Spider will be leaving Orlando temporarily and the cottage (the later for good I think – I loved that little place). He’s heading out-of-state for home with Hampton and Chesapeake for the duration of his treatment. I don’t feel I need to get into the rest of the mechanics of how he’ll treat. I just feel bad for him on several levels. I know how much he’s loved his cottage. I know he’s going to miss the friends he does have in Orlando. Yet in the same breath, old familiar surroundings and family can be good for the body, mind, and soul.

What I care most about is my dearest friend getting well, FOR GOOD! I like to think of this whole event as just a minor blip in Spidie’s life. He’s going to come roaring back, I’m sure. Hopefully I can convince him to blog a little more while he is in that place called home. For those that know Spider, keep him in your thoughts and prayers.  Thanks.

Later.

